pHOTo talk: Track Record Mangalagiri Constituency

In 2019 Elections, Nara Lokesh will be contesting from Mangalagiri Assembly Constituency in Guntur District. As a result, There is curiosity among the public about the track record of this segment.

Mangalagiri Constituency was formed in 1950s. It is one of the 17 Constituencies in the Guntur District and covers there Mandals (Tadepalle, Mangalagiri, Duggirala).

CPI's D Lakshmaiah was the first to represent Mangalagiri Constituency as an MLA from 1952 to 1955. Thereafter, Congress leader Meka Kotireddy served as MLA for a term. CPI Leader Vemulapalli Srikrishna was elected as MLA for two terms (1962, 1972). Congress leader TN Rao (1967) and JNP leader GV Pathaiah (1978) had represented it as MLA for one term each.

In 1983 and 1985 Elections, TDP's Koteswara Rao won against Congress candidates Ramapati Srinivas and Actress Jamuna.

 Again, Congress bagged this constituency in 1989 with the victory of its candidate Goli Veeranjaneyulu. CPM leader Nimmagadda Ramamohan Rao was elected as MLA in 1994 elections with the support of TDP. For three terms since then, Congress Candidates (M Hanumanta Rao - 1999, 2004, Kamala Kandru - 2009) emerged victorious.

 In the 2014 elections, YCP's Alla Ramakrishna Reddy won against TDP Candidate.Total electorate in Mangalagiri constituency - 2,39,536. BCs will be deciding who should be the MLA here. SCs account for over 50,000 votes. This segment have good number of Yadav, Padmashali, Goud, Kamma and Kapu Votes as well.

TDP Leadership believes development works taken up by CRDA in Mangalagiri will fetch victory for Nara Lokesh. In reality, It mayn't be a cakewalk for Nara Lokesh as TDP hasn't won here since 1989.

Prev Post WANTED! Candidates For Janasena
Next Post 22 years youth boy killed his father


Click here to Write a comment ...
Post comment
    Please submit your comments.