web analytics
Thursday 18 October, 2018, 1:09 am

Jayalalithaa successor TTV Dhinakaran takes oath as MLA from RK Nagar

Chennai: Sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran, who secured an emphatic win in the RK Nagar bypoll, was on Friday sworn-in as member of the Tamil Nadu Assembly.

He succeeds former chief minister J Jayalalithaa as legislator of the city segment.

The newly-elected MLA was sworn-in as a member of the 15th Assembly by Speaker P Dhanapal in his office.

Dhinakaran's supporters, including some disqualified MLAs and key aides like Thangatamilselvan and P Vetrivel, were present on the occasion. Dhanapal later shook hands with Dhinakaran.

The bypoll, which took place on December 21, was necessitated due to the death of Jayalalithaa who was the sitting MLA.

Dhinakaran trounced his nearest AIADMK rival E Madhusudhanan by over 40,000 votes.

Sidelined by the ruling camp a few months ago, Dhinakaran contested as an independent candidate from the constituency.

Telugu Politics

Revanth Reddy,Drunk and Drive,Revanth Commments,KCR,Telangana CM KCR,Pragathi Bhavan

ప్రగతిభవన్ దగ్గర డ్రంకెన్ డ్రైవ్ ఎందుకు పెట్టరు?

తెలంగాణ ముఖ్యమంత్రి కే చంద్రశేఖరరావుపై కాంగ్రెస్ నాయకుడు కొడంగల్ ఎమ్మెల...